Unforseen technical difficulties and other scheduling issues

September 7, 2007

This blog has unfortunately gone on an involuntary hiatus recently, due to real life’s hectic and stressful schedule. Now it looks like this delay has been confounded by technical issues. I finally got around to writing a lengthy post discussing Nightmare Alley – the great Twentieth Century Fox noir from 1947 starring Tyrone Power – and using it as an example to demonstrate the elements of classical tragedy that appear in noir film (a topic that’s actually much more interesting than it sounds). Unfortunately, right when I was about to publish it, I pushed the “Save” button, not realizing the computer had cleverly used this label merely to disguise its “Irreversibly wipe out any trace of this post” button. All subsequent efforts to retrieve the draft have been futile. That’s technology for you.

At any rate, when I have the time and energy again, I’ll post on that or some other matter, but it might be a while before I have the chance. Hang tight, faithful reader.

Leave a comment